Food Trip: Toyo’s Eatery at The Alley at Kerravin

I wanted to surprise the hubby with a nice dinner date after work so after he picked me up we went to Kitchen’s Best at Kerravin but sadly they were closed. I thought my dinner date plans were ruined but fortunately, just a couple of meters from it is The Alley at Kerravin and so we decided to try out Toyo’s Eatery.

We weren’t really sure what to expect from it. They had a “Tasting Menu” which is a 12-course set that ranges from 2,900 – 3,500 per person. They also have a “Set Menu” which is priced at 1,000 per person. If you don’t want to eat too much though they have an a la carte menu also available. Their food is mostly Filipino but the flavors are a lot more complex.

I loved the place and how attentive the staff were. While taking our orders they even asked us if we had allergies on anything. Every time they served a course they explain the ingredients and what is the best way to eat them so you are not left wondering what you are eating or how to eat it, especially if it’s your first time at the place.

The hubby and I decided on the Set Menu where you have a choice of Garden Vegetables or Burnt Kalabaza with Sea Urchin and Orange Kamote (our choice) for appetizers, choice of Grilled Loin and Belly of Bangus with Silog (hubby’s choice), Toyo Eatery 3-cut pork BBQ with Silog (my choice) and Lightly Grilled Mackerel in Grass-Fed Butter with Dried Tuna Roe Rice for your main course and some sweets,

They served these Meringue with Ginataang Langka (jackfruit) and some coconut on top. I thought it was going to be sweet but it was more salty. I’m not even sure how to describe it. You just pop it in your mouth and let it melt there.

Their in-house bread: Tocino bread and sourdough with fermented black rice bread. These were served with homemade grass-fed butter which was so yummy. I really liked the Tocino bread which came as a surprise to me coz I don’t like Tocino. The sourdough was interesting and the crust was very crunchy.

Just want to say that I love their dinnerware. Isn’t that butter knife and plate interesting?

Burnt Kalabaza with Sea Urchin and Orange Kamote. I love the pumpkin and orange kamote but I discovered that I am not a big fan of sea urchin (it was the first time I tried it). Where to get that bowl though?

Grilled Loin and Belly of Bangus with Toyo Eatery Silog. Really tasty.

Toyo Eatery 3-cut pork BBQ with Silog. One of the best BBQs I have had so far.

For the sweets, we were served with grilled casava cake (my favorite) and chocolate with salted caramel. A great way to finish our meal.


Would love to try the Tasting Menu some time. Maybe when I have the extra money. 😛

Leave a Reply

