Manila Zoo

#throwbackthursday

I love zoos. I think there was a time that the hubby and I would go to a zoo at least once a year. We’d even take our niece and it felt like being a kid again. One of the things I like about it is being able to interact with some of the animals. It’s nice to see them up close and be able to touch them. Of course, there’s always a part of me that feels bad about them being held captives for display.

It has been a while since we’ve been to Manila Zoo. This set of photos were taken during our last visit which was late 2009. I think I just got my camera back then and I wanted to try a bit of photography and learn how to use the camera so I took photos as much as I could. I told myself that I should go back when I’m better with taking photos but that never happened because I never got better. 😛

I do hope I get to visit again next year to see how the animals have been doing.

This elephant has been there for as long as I can remember. I think there were discussions before about setting it free because of old age or something. What do you guys think about that? Should this elephant be set free after spending decades in the zoo? Do you think it will be able to survive on its own?
1
Reptiles
PhotoGrid_1385084989975
Oh, deer.
3
A hippo, a zebra and a crocodile about to dive on the water.
PhotoGrid_1385085250299
Monkeys
PhotoGrid_1385085333541
Tigers. The one on the right of the top photo was hugging the log, so cute. When I was a kid, I was scared of getting too close to see the tigers and lions because I always imagine myself falling into their “cage” (can’t remember the right term for it right now).
PhotoGrid_1385085377501
What’s down there?
7
This one looked depressed. I felt bad for it. Those eyes….
8
There was another section of the zoo (I think it’s called Kindergarten Zoo or something) where you can interact with the animals. It has a separate entrance fee but I think it’s very much worth it. Specially if you’re bringing the kids. This pig over here was just roaming around the premises. You can feed it with veggies for a fee (of course). He could do tricks like ‘sit’.
9
The hubby loved being up close and personal with the animals. I was a bit scared to touch though. 🙂
PhotoGrid_1385085486893
Colorful birds always look great on photos.
PhotoGrid_1385085586673
Reptiles again. There were two big yellow tortoises as well and they allow the kids to ride on their back. I’m personally against it because I feel bad for them.
PhotoGrid_1385085616958

2 thoughts on “Manila Zoo

Leave a Reply

