Loyalty vs Faithfulness

For some reason, my teammates were discussing Faithfulness and Loyalty in our chatroom a few months ago (yes, another late post). The question “what’s the difference between the two?” came up. Although these two may seem the same, I think there is still a difference.

I’ll quote my teammate on this one:
loyal = someone who looks at other women/men but also knows his/her true home
faithful = regards her/his loved one as the sole purpose of existence and cannot even notice beautiful/handsome women/men around

I also like jynne’s answer in askville (which I totally agree on):
“There is a difference betwen the two. They are synonyms, but I think the circumstances in which they are used are different. Loyalty is an unswerving devotion to a person or a thing. In many ways, this can be positive, but it can also be negative. Stalkers have a kind of loyalty mixed with dangerous behaviors. Faithfulness is steadfast in allegiance, or firm in adherence to promises or in observance of duty. To me, this means doing things that you may not like in efforts to help someone who has earned your faithfulness. Loyalty shifts more than faithfulness in my experience. some would say that if it changes, then it really wasn’t loyalty to begin with. Husbands and wives are supposed to be faithful to each other, even when times are tough. However, if they aren’t faithful to each other, one of the partners has a newfound loyalty for someone else. This may be temporary, or passing, but faithfulness is forever.”

I don’t know about everyone else but I prefer faithfulness to loyalty. What do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

