Random Kwento 13

I wanted to try baking so I asked my mom if the oven at home was working. She said yes (it was pretty new and I have not seen her use it before) so I thought she could help me. I told her I wanted to start with brownies. I’m not stupid enough to think that I could make it from scratch on the first try so to ease myself up to the whole baking thing, I thought I’d start with ready mixes and I bought a Betty Crocker’s fudge brownies mix.

Last night, I gathered the ingredients and told my mom we could start. I’m not there during weekends so the only time I could do it was after work. I asked her to pre-heat the oven as instructed in the box. She said I should start with the mix first so I did (she was busy using Facebook). After the batter was ready, I told her I was done and to turn on the oven. She went in front of the oven and muttered something like, “How do you turn this thing on?” Ummmmm… Then she proceeded to take out the manual and read through it. I could not believe she let me work on the batter when it turns out that she didn’t even know how to turn the oven on. All I could say was, “You’re reading the manual NOW????”

We tried to figure it out and followed the manual but failed. 😦

We didn’t know what to do with the batter. It was a shame to just throw it away so she suggested to use the microwave oven instead. I’ve done that before and learned that when you use the microwave, it turns the brownie as hard as a rock. You could injure someone if you throw it at him/her. But we didn’t have a lot of choice so that’s what we did. It was ok at first. A little chewy but edible enough. But after a couple of hours, you won’t be able to bite through it anymore.

Needless to say that my dreams of learning how to bake is on a complete halt until we figure out how to turn the damn oven on. Argh!

Leave a Reply

