Best Valentine’s Day so far…

Another late post. Hehe.

You’d think that since I’ve been inlove for more than 10 years now that I’d be looking forward to celebrating Valentine’s Day. But on the contrary, I actually don’t like Valentine’s. I find it very superficial and overrated especially with all the roses you can see everywhere that day. The hubby has actually gotten me some roses for this day a few times before but I guess he eventually realized that roses on Valentine’s Day are not my thing. Although I appreciate the thought, I think it’s just a waste of money.

We never really do anything special to celebrate Valentine’s Day before so I didn’t expect anything this year either. Besides, we both have work and Jay’s on a night shift…

I can’t say though that I was surprised when I found Jay waiting for me outside our office building instead of being at work. Having known him for a long time, I knew he must be planning something different when he called me in the afternoon to say that he was about to leave for work like he usually does. Let’s just say that something was different with that conversation. I approached him and told him he’ll be late for work and that’s when I found out that he took the day off to spend the day with me. That was enough to make me happy. I didn’t really need anything else. But on top of that, he arranged a nice dinner for two at a very posh restaurant. And no, there were (thankfully) no roses for me this time.

We spent some time in Ayala Triangle where there was a mini-concert thingy then headed to Top of the Citi for a 7-course dinner. ^_^

There were a lot of couples already dining in the restaurant. Unfortunately, we didn’t get a table with a nice view but the ambiance was nice enough with the violin and keyboard playing in the background. They even played some of my favorite pieces. It made me regret not continuing my violin lessons. The staff were nice and courteous. Jay called ahead to reserve us a table but they weren’t able to find his name in their records. In any case, they still provided us a table. The only complaint I have is that it took time for them to bring out the bread to tide us ’til our meal actually starts.

For the day, they had a set Valentine menu for everyone so we didn’t have a choice with what to eat at all. I guess it would be easier for the kitchen staff since they were expecting a lot of people during this day.

I didn’t get to take photos of anything or anyone aside from the food and I only had my mom’s digicam so forgive me for the not so nice photos. 😛

The biggest problem: figuring out which fork or knife to use.

The bread was fresh from the oven. I loved the crunchy exterior. If I wasn't afraid of getting full before we even get to the appetizers, I probably would've asked for seconds.

Scallop Carpaccio in Champagne Vinaigrette drizzled with Sel de Chateau and freshly ground pink peppercorn. I don't know if I'm just not used to this kind of food but we found the dish a bit bland with just a tinge of saltiness. The scallops were very thin as well. It was like eating an unsweetened jelly.

Arugula, Watercress, Endive & Cherry Tomato Salad in pomelo vinaigrette dressing with parmesan flakes. Everyone who knows me well enough would know that I don't like veggies. So I didn't really get to enjoy this. Jay finished his, though. I tried eating some ('coz the dinner was so expensive and I didn't wanna waste it) but I really didn't like it. This is why I don't like set meals. There aren't any choices.

Pan Fried Fish Fillet of Fresh Jade Perch Almondine with steamed mange tout. I loved the fish and the nuts.

Raspberry Sorbet enhanced with sparkling wine

I wanted seconds. Hehe. Yummy!

Pan Fried Goose Liver on Grilled US Black Angus Tenderloin with Madeira Sauce. The liver melts in your mouth. The risotto was a bit like mashed potato. The beans were tasty I actually ate a few even though I don't like green food. The beef was tender and the sauce was really good.

Pan Fried Goose Liver on Baked Rack of Lamb in Goat Cheese Crust with Rosemary-Min Jus.

Trio of Red Velvet Cupcake, French Chocolate Hazelnut Kiss & Strawberry Pavlova Heart. The red velvet wasn't as moist as I wanted it to be. The pavlova was a bit too chewy. I liked the chocolate.

Leave a Reply

