Hong Kong I

Just a couple of weeks after our Singapore trip, Jay and I went on another adventure. This time, our destination was Hong Kong.

We got our tickets when CebuPac had a sale and scheduled it for the Chinese New Year week. I’m still not sure if that was a good thing or not. There were so many people. It was crowded everywhere. On the other hand, it was nice to witness the festivities there. And there were a lot of stores on sale.

Our flight: Jan 21, 2012 @ 5:40AM (Saturday)

Saw this guy sleeping at the airport while charging something...

Jay and I went shopping the day before our flight because we needed some stuffs for “something”. We got back to our home at Las Pinas past 11PM already and we haven’t even packed yet. Needless to say, we didn’t get any sleep at all. After packing our stuffs, we got ready and left for the airport. We were both so tired and sleepy. As soon as I got to my seat, I fell asleep. I hardly felt the plane take off. When I woke up, this is what I saw:

Unlike our Singapore trip, we didn’t know anyone where we were going so nobody was there to show us around and explain things. We were completely on our own and had to figure everything out by ourselves. It was fun. But sometimes, it could get a little frustrating.

For the first part of our trip, we stayed at Kimberley Hotel. It was a good thing I researched how we could get there from the airport so I knew what bus to take. We had some of our money exchanged to HKD at the airport and got ourselves to the bus terminal. As soon as we stepped out, we felt the cold weather of Hong Kong. It wasn’t the first time I’ve been to HK on January so I knew it was going to be cold but I had no idea it was going to be THAT cold. Anyways, we got to the bus terminal and rode bus A21. It was a long ride to the city. We were worried about getting lost but the bus had those LED thingy that notifies you which bus stop is next and which hotels are near that bus stop.

Bus information board outside the airport

I didn't know Ang Pao grow on trees

We got off our stop and fumbled our way to the hotel. We were pleased to know that our hotel had a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. It was a very good location. We were too early for check-in time so I was a bit worried but we were able to check-in to our room right away.

1st time I've seen a 13th floor... and we're on it!

Hello, room!

Hallway

Bed wasn't that big but comfy enough...

Bathroom

Yay, a tub!

Bath stuffs

Our first purchase in HK

Jay thought the chips was important enough to be put in the safety deposit box. XD

We slept ’til the afternoon to gain our strength and we were very hungry when we woke up so we went outside looking for a money changer that offers a good rate and some food. There was so much to see in Nathan Road. Jay and I enjoyed walking around even though our stomachs were still empty.

One of the older buildings in the city

Along Nathan Rd.

While walking, we came across this booth selling something that smelled REALLY good. I still had no idea what it’s called but lots of people were lining up for it and the booth had photos of what looks like celebrities eating it. They seemed to be popular so Jay and I decided to try one. Boy, it was good… I wish I got to eat more of it. It was crunchy on the outside but the inside was still moist. It tasted like sweet ice cream cone but better.

Lotsa people waiting for their order

Celebrity (probably) photos eating their product posted on the booth

Tada! Yummy!

We kinda got lost a bit but were able to find our way to Avenue of the Stars. It was a foggy and breezy night. Way too cold for me and we didn’t get to appreciate Symphony of Lights that much.

The view at the Avenue of the Stars. It was so freaking cold.

Then, we went out to search for some REAL food for dinner and ended in Yoshinoya. Their menu is really different from what we have hear in Manila but still really good. And there were a lot of choices.

Dinner

And with our stomachs finally full, we headed back to our room to get more rest for our destination the next day.

One thought on “Hong Kong I

  1. Pingback: Random SG Foodies | randomlittlemusings

Leave a Reply

