My Worst Nightmare…

I don’t really know when it started but ever since I could remember, my worst nightmare have always been zombies. Vampires fascinate me. Werewolves interest me. But zombies… They’re just so… disturbing. The thought of the undead chasing around the living to feed. Argh! I don’t know how many times I’ve had zombie-related nightmares. I practically have to will myself to wake up to get out of it. And this started way before The Walking Dead, Plants vs Zombies or HOTD ever came into the picture. Well, PvZ isn’t really scary but you know what I mean…

For some reason, however, I can’t stop myself from reading/watching series/movies about them. Here are some of the zombie-related stuffs I’ve seen/read:

Dawn of the Dead

I saw this back in college. I think it scarred me for life. I mean, you’d think that moaning, limping zombies chasing you are enough but they had to make them hyperactive marathon runners too. This movie gave me the idea to try to get to a mall if ever a zombie apocalypse would happen in the future (like it’s an easy thing to do…)

With all the zombie-hype going around lately, I actually wanted to watch it again but was too scared. Good thing I found the movie script on the internet so instead of re-watching it, I just read the script. Less graphic.

Dawn of the Dead

Resident Evil (Games and Movies)

My brother used to play Resident Evil 2 in our PC years ago. I first got interested because I thought the main character (Leon) was cute so I started watching whenever my brother played it. I couldn’t bring myself to play it at all but I couldn’t stop watching it either. I even used to ask my brother to tell me when he’ll be playing the game so that I could watch. Ofcourse, my brother sorta got hooked and played the other versions as well. I wasn’t able to follow everything anymore though so I had to rely on good ol’ wikipedia to find out about the narrative of each game.

Naturally, even though I knew it will be filled with zombies, I had to watch the movie which was really cool. The story is different from the game but it was still interesting. Four movies later, I’m still looking forward to the next one.

Resident Evil

Autumn by David Moody

I was browsing ebay for some ebooks when I saw a post there for Autumn ebook. I didn’t really know what it was about at the time but since it was free and I was looking for something new to read, I asked the seller for a copy and he/she gladly sent it to me.

Autumn was the first book of the series. Interestingly, the term “zombie” was never mentioned in the first book (from what I recall anyways–its been a while since I read it).

Something deadly was in the air and everybody just literally started dropping dead. Only a handful of people survived (probably less than 1% of the population). Nobody knew what caused it and why some of them survived. A few days after, some of the dead started getting up and walking. Unlike the usual zombies, though, they were just literally walking around without much care in the world. They weren’t really out for blood. A few more days later, they seemed to start developing their senses and getting curious of their surroundings, even getting aggressive towards anything that moves or makes any sound… More info here.

It was a good series. I would’ve loved to buy copies of the other books to find out what happened but it’s not available in the Philippines. 😦 From what I read online, there’s even a movie adaptation of this. Anybody knows where I could download it?

Autumn

Highschool of the Dead (HOTD)

Well, you already know how much I love anime. Naturally, when I found out there was an anime about zombies, I had to watch it. Since it’s in 2D, I didn’t find it as scary as the live movies/series. But that doesn’t mean it didn’t rattle me at all. It’s a fan-service-filled anime for guys. Hot sexy chicks + Guns + Zombie-killing. What more can I guy ask for?

Unfortunately, the anime has only 12 episodes. Bitin. I tried reading the manga which went a bit further than the anime but the series is currently in hiatus and there have been no updates for years. 😦

Highschool of the Dead

The Walking Dead

This is the only TV series I know that involves zombies. Me and my teammates have been addicted to this since the first season came out last year. It was a long wait for the second season but it’s already here and I’m glad to know that a third season was also approved.

I have a soft copy of some of the volumes of the comic but I haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I’ve only browsed it and read some things in wikipedia.

Whenever a new episode comes out, I have to read the summary online first so I would already know what to expect when I watch it and wouldn’t be too scared. I’m such a wimp like that.

The Walking Dead

I’ve seen other zombie-related movies aside from these (my brother is a zombie-movie addict) but I think this post is long enough and I’m too lazy to continue. 😛

Leave a Reply

