No cheese or chocolate? You’re kidding, right?!

On the latter part of my 3rd week in India (Oct 6), I started throwing up every after dinner or before going to bed. I really didn’t think much of it at first. I knew I couldn’t be pregnant.

By the 4th day, I was starting to get a little worried about what was happening to me. I didn’t know at the time that it was a “reflux”. All I know is that I was throwing up and I felt nauseous a lot of times. The worst I could think of was that I got Hepa. I had an anti-Hepa shot before leaving for India but being the pessimist that I am, I just couldn’t completely scratch it off as a possibility so I tried to google some symptoms and watched out for it. Thankfully, aside from nausea and vomiting, I didn’t have the other symptoms. But since I still didn’t know what was happening, I was still very worried.

This continued for a whole week. I didn’t tell anyone aside from Jay and mentioned it only to KC and another teammate back in Manila. I was really at my low-point that time. I was homesick and I felt really weak. Not to mention that the training we were supposed to be having was not going as well as I expected. Good thing I stopped vomiting on the 8th day, which was 2 days before we head back to Manila. I still felt queasy, though.

On our last day in India, we were supposed to check out from the hotel at around 12PM. Our flight back was 11PM. -_- After checking out, we headed to Garuda Mall for lunch. KC led me to a restaurant that serves buffet. They were supposed to feature Asian food and when I glanced at the food in the buffet, it looked ok so I agreed and we got a table. It was the worst buffet I ever had in my life.  They served us chicken and corn soup with spinach and lime/lemon. My fave kind of soup is chicken and corn so I was actually looking forward to it despite having spinach but because of the lime/lemon, the soup had a sour taste. It was disgusting. While getting food at the buffet, I tried to look for the dishes that doesn’t look spicy and I could actually eat. I got back to our table and started eating. Everything on my plate (except for the steamed rice) was spicy! Argh! And some of the dish I got didn’t even look spicy at all. A waiter or two walks around offering chicken wings and dim sum. I got myself a chicken wing (which was ofcourse, spicy) and a dimsum. I would usually dip my dim sum in soy sauce but it didn’t look like they got any so I just put it in my mouth and started chewing. Lo, and behold, there was chilli inside. My mouth felt like it was on fire from all of the spicy food I ate in less than 10 minutes. I was starting to feel sick that I didn’t even have any appetite for desserts anymore. After a bit of shopping at Cauvery for some souvenirs, I was ready to head back to the hotel, sit down and get some rest.

As I mentioned in a previous post, it was a hellish travel back to Manila. I felt like throwing up the whole time, I was queasy and weak. When we got home, I tried to get as much rest as I could but it wasn’t enough.

While I was happy to be back home, I still felt queasy a lot and I always had the urge to throw up so I went to see our office doctor. As we were talking, he mentioned the term “reflux” and said that what was happening was probably because of my erratic eating habits back in India, drinking coffee (for breakfast in India–the juice they serve at the hotel tasted funny) and the spices from the food there. He gave me prescription for Motilium to suppress the vomiting and told me to eat 5 times a day (which I never got to do). Two weeks later, not much changed. I went back to the doctor yesterday and he said that it looks like I got GERD. He enumerated things that I’m not supposed to eat: spicy food (which I don’t mind at all), cheese (or anything dairy including ice cream), chocolates, coffee (or anything with caffeine), fatty or fried food, fruit juices (or anything sour like citrus). Very depressing. This is practically all I eat. I researched a bit and found that tomato-based food are also a no-no. Goodbye, spaghetti with meatballs. How much sadder could my life be? What am I supposed to do? Starve to death???!

On top of this, I had an allergic reaction three times last week and I still have no idea what’s causing this. What the hell is going on with me?! 😦

The doctor prescribed me some meds and told me to keep myself from getting hungry. We’ll see in two weeks if my condition would improve. Hopefully, it will…

2 thoughts on “No cheese or chocolate? You’re kidding, right?!

  1. oh no sis, I hope you’re feeling a lot better now. I can pretty much tolerate spicy foods but I bet the food you’ve eaten in India are way too spicy for you to have developed this GERD thing. get well soon.

    • thanks, sis. i was actually trying to avoid spicy food ‘coz i really don’t like them in the first place although sometimes di maiwasan… i think it’s mostly the not so healthy stuffs i was eating and drinking when i was there. dun ko lang na-experience mag-potato wedges for breakfast, fries for lunch then fries again for dinner… apparently, GERD can develop if you eat too much spicy food, dairy, fatty and fried food as well as coffee and tea which is pretty much what i was eating for a month…

      stay healthy!

Leave a Reply

