Bokura ga Ita (We Were There)

Bokura ga Ita is a story about falling in love. Taking a risk. Letting go. Second chances. And a whole lot more.

Synopsis from nihonreview.com: Upon starting her first year of high school, Takahashi Nanami, a somewhat clumsy girl, has trouble adjusting to her new life. There she meets fellow student Yano Motoharu, a well-liked, yet boorish boy and even though she finds him ambiguous and impolite at first, she quickly begins to develop feelings for him. While he is one of the most popular students in school, he is intensely hated by the girl that sits next to Takahashi in class, Yamamoto Yuri. Yano’s best friend, Takeuchi Masafumi later reveals to Takahashi that Yamamoto’s deceased sister was actually Yano’s ex-girlfriend.

One of the things I really like about the series is that the characters are well-explored. You’ll get to see deep into them which makes it easy to understand why they take certain actions. There’s a lot of really funny scenes too. I’m so inlove with Yano.

The story is realistic and relatable. A lot of times, I find myself wondering what I would do if I was in Nana’s shoes. I don’t even know how many times the series made me cry (specially the manga). There are a lot of scenes between Nana and Yano that are just heartwarming to say the least. You can always feel the emotion behind the script.

The ending is one of my most favorite scenes among all shojo series I’ve watched. I find myself playing this episode over and over. Like other series, the manga continues the story which is actually not finished yet. It broke my heart when I found out what happened to their relationship after Yano left. Sometimes, when I think about the series, an overwhelming sadness washes over me. The things Yano had to go through is just so sad. And all along, Nana had no idea but is hurting just as much.

I’m hoping for a happy ending. I want them to be together in the end. God knows that Yano deserves it. They both do.

I read somewhere that there will be a live action series for this. I can’t wait to see it. (^^,)

I fell in love with this scene.... Sigh....

The ending... I cried buckets over this.

Scenes from the last episode

Oh... this one made me cry too. What seemed to be a fun date turned into a breakup.

It's good to be inlove

4 thoughts on “Bokura ga Ita (We Were There)

  1. I love this series, it’s so endearing. Even though Yano and Nanami have their problems, I root for them despite myself. The ending of the anime (which is not the end of the manga) is one of my favorite scenes in any anime or manga, and it made cry.

    • Me too! When I feel like I need a good cry I just watch the ending of the anime… Lately though, I’ve been watching the last episode of Ano Hana instead. 🙂

      I heard that the manga will be ending next year (can’t wait for the ending), right about the same time the live action film will be released. What do you think of the actors? I’m having doubts about them… But I’m hoping they’ll pull it off..

      • I actually haven’t seen pictures of any of the actors, but I hope the film will be good. There have been several great live-action manga adaptations (like Nana and Hana Yori Dango), so I have hope for it. 🙂

        And I seriously can’t wait for Bokura ga Ita’s manga to end because I have no idea how it’s going to turn out. It’s one of my favorite manga right now.

      • If you’ve seen the Japanese Hana-Kimi, he’s the guy who played Nakatsu. And Jubei (not sure if I got the name right) in Boys Over Flowers… I’ve never seen the girl who’s to play Nana though…

Leave a Reply

